Skip to Main Content

MCCC map






Dean Baas- MI
Tom Kaspar- IA
Eileen Kladivko- IN
Andy Lenssen- IA (Chair of NCCC-211)
Anne Verhallen- ON

Past Executive Committee Members

*For more information on the structure of the MCCC leadership, please visit the Organization page


Dean Baas

Dean Baas is a Senior Research Associate in Michigan State University (MSU) Extension.  Dean is involved in cover crop and organic agriculture research and education. Farmers and commodity groups are an integral part of his projects and programs.  He is a member of the Midwest Cover Crops Council Executive Committee (MCCC) and coordinates MCCC activities including the promotion of cover crop usage in the Midwest and the development of tools to assist farmers in cover crop decision-making.  He is the Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) Coordinator for the state of Michigan coordinating and promoting SARE programs including the professional development, farmer rancher, research and education, and graduate student grant programs through the North Central Region of SARE.

He has a Ph.D. in Environmental Geosciences and Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering and a B.S. in Agricultural Engineering from MSU.  Prior to returning to MSU for graduate study, he had a 20-year career with the Kellogg Company.

Contact Information

Michigan State University Extension
St. Joesph County
612 E. Main St.
Centreville, MI 49032



Tom Kaspar

Tom Kaspar is a Plant Physiologist at the USDA-ARS National Soil Tilth Laboratory in Ames, IA and a Collaborator/Professor with the Agronomy Department at Iowa State University. He earned his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from Iowa State University.  Dr. Kaspar’s research program focuses mainly on crop and soil management to improve water quality and soil productivity. He has conducted field-scale research on the effects of soil management and soil properties on crop root growth, water infiltration, stand establishment, and spatial variability of crop yield. His recent research has focused on the environmental benefits of winter rye cover crops in corn-soybean rotations.

Contact Information

USDA-ARS, National Soil Tilth Laboratory
2110 University Blvd.
Ames, IA  50011-3120



Eileen Kladivko

Dr. Eileen J. Kladivko is Professor of Agronomy at Purdue University, where she teaches and does research in soil physics, soil biology, and soil management.  Her overall research focus has been to identify soil management systems that improve environmental quality and promote agricultural sustainability.  Specific research areas have included the impacts of tile drainage on crop yields and nitrate losses to surface waters; the interactions of earthworms, soil management, and soil physical properties; conservation tillage and cover crops for soil quality improvement; and preferential flow of chemicals through soils. (Read more about Eileen's work here.)

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
Department of Agronomy
Lilly Hall of Life Sciences
915 W. State Street
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2054

Office Location:
3371 Lilly Hall of Life Sciences



Andy Lenssen

Short bio to come...

Contact Information

Iowa State University

Department of Agronomy
1405 Agronomy Hall
Ames, IA 50011



Anne Verhallen 

Anne Verhallen is the Soil Management Specialist for Horticultural Crops in the Province of Ontario. She has been working for the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs since 1988 promoting soil conservation and soil management. In the past she has worked on wind erosion prevention, reduced tillage, refining fertility recommendations in tomatoes and sugar beets and compaction amelioration. Her current areas of focus include soil health, irrigation and cover crops. She has concentrated much of her cover crop field work on specific niches like early harvested vegetable crops like processing peas, snap beans and sweet corn. As part of the OMAFRA Soil Team she helps to deliver training on various soil management topics including cover crops. She is also the current chair of the Ontario Soil Management Research and Services Committee.

Contact Information

Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
P.O. Box 400
Ridgetown, Ontario, CANADA
N0P 2C0

Office location
Agronomy Building
University of Guelph, Ridgetown Campus    

Web site:

Past Executive Committee Members

We would like to thank previous Executive Committee members Don Wyse, Dale Mutch, Alan Sundermeier, Jim Hoorman, Rich Hoormann, Scott Wells, Matt Ruark, and Marisol Berti for their contributions to the establishment, expansion, management and leadership of the MCCC that has provided the foundation for the current leadership team.

Adobe Reader is required to view all pdf documents. To download, visit

Site map Site search


MCCC logo MCCC banner